An Announcement On Fall Athletics

As your Director of Athletics, it gives me great pleasure to announce that the Brooklyn/Queens Principals have voted to conduct a limited Fall Athletic Season beginning September 21st.  As a parent, I understand the role that athletics plays in a teenager's life, and the importance it is for the student-athletes to get back onto the field.  I also know the challenges that lie ahead for all of us in providing a safe environment for your children to compete.  There will be new guidelines for each sport to follow based on guidelines from the Governor’s Office, the New York State Department of Health, The New York State Department of Education, as well as the state CHSAA.  The coaches and staff members at Xaverian will work tirelessly to ensure that your son or daughter will adhere to all health standards and have the best experience possible under these current circumstances.  

We look forward to seeing the kids back on the field in the coming weeks in this limited season, as coaches start meeting with anyone interested in trying out for their respective sport.  We also understand the difficulties that a hybrid learning model may pose on student-athletes getting to and from practices and games. Split or missed practices throughout this limited Fall season are a reality, and we can assure you that we will work through this, along with other challenges that lie ahead, which include a very limited use of our locker rooms.

A more detailed Return to Play facts and guidelines document will be made available in the coming weeks, adopted from city and state guidelines. 

Below is a list of sports that will be offered this Fall. For those students that are interested in trying out or returning to a sport, please email the coach directly for more information.
 
Boys Soccer
JV - Massimo Penta  mpenta@xaverian.org
Varsity - Peter Barone pbarone@xaverian.org
 
Girls Soccer
Erin Meagher  emeagher@xaverian.org
 
Boys Cross Country
Brian McCartney bmccartney@xaverian.org
 
Girls Cross Country
John Maiocco jmaiocco@xaverian.org
 
Bowling
Dan Mace dmace@xaverian.org
 
Girls Tennis
Alex Alfredo aalfredo@xaverian.org
 
Baseball - Tryout Season
Freshman - Fred Hassel fhassel@xaverian.org
JV - Bill Daly wdaly@xaverian.org
Varsity - Frank DelGeorge - fdelgeorge@xaverian.org
 
Softball - Tryout Season
Mark Biancoviso mbiancoviso@xaverian.org

The following sports were pushed to March/April due to the state designating them high-risk sports.  
Football
Girls Volleyball
Competitive Cheer
Boys Swimming
Girls Swimming
 
If anyone has any questions, please feel free to email me at amancusi@xaverian.org
 
We cannot wait to see our Clipper Student-Athletes competing again, and being true ambassadors of our school. So, allow me to be the first...
 
GO Clippers!

 
Anthony Mancusi '96 P'22 '27
Director of Athletics
Back
    • Fall Sports 2020

Established in 1957, Xaverian is one of thirteen schools nationwide sponsored by the Xaverian Brothers.
Xaverian
7100 Shore Road         Brooklyn, New York 11209         Phone: (718) 836-7100